Who We Are

Quantum Research Center (QRC) is a new international center of excellence for research into quantum technologies. Led by a globally recognised expert in the field, Professor Jose Ignacio Latorre, we are dedicated to building the first quantum computer in the region.

At QRC, we are inspired by our vision of quantum technologies that recognises the numerous positive applications our work can have in industries and scientific disciplines far beyond our core areas of focus.

QRC is part of the Technology Innovation Institute (TII), a UAE-based research center that aims to lead global advances in artificial intelligence, autonomous robotics, quantum computing, cryptography and quantum communications, directed energy, secure communication, smart devices, advanced materials, and propulsion and space technologies.

We belong to the Abu Dhabi Government’s Advanced Technology Research Council (ATRC), which oversees technology research in the emirate.

What We Do

At QRC, we are developing a new generation of quantum technologies, including quantum cryptography, quantum communications and quantum sensing. We conduct basic research and partner with other scientific institutions to pioneer new projects​.

The focus of our research is threefold: pursuing a full-stack approach to quantum computation based on superconducting circuits, crafting ultra-precise quantum sensors that exploit the levitation properties of microscopic objects, and designing entanglement distribution for quantum communication.

The research spirit of the center is complemented by a strong interest in applications such as quantum algorithms for artificial intelligence and drug discovery, a new generation of navigation devices, and real-life quantum cryptographic solutions.

Today, our work focuses on:

Our Team

At QRC, we are bringing together a team of the sharpest minds from across the global quantum community to investigate the toughest questions and respond to critical challenges – while always following strict ethical principles. 


Dr. Ray O. Johnson
Dr. Ray O. Johnson Chief Executive Officer Technology Innovation Institute and ASPIRE
Prof José Ignacio Latorre
Prof. Dr. José Ignacio Latorre

Chief Researcher

Quantum Research Center
Quantum Physics
Dr Luigi Amico
Prof. Dr. Luigi Amico Executive Director
Dr. Vijay Singh
Dr. Vijay Singh Postdoctoral Researcher
Giampiero Marchegiani
Dr. Giampiero Marchegiani Postdoctoral Researcher
Dr Juan Polo
Dr. Juan Polo Lead Researcher
Dr Andreas Osterloh
Dr. Andreas Osterloh Senior Researcher
Prof. Frederico Brito
Prof. Dr. Frederico Brito Senior Researcher
Dr Gianluigi Catelani
Prof. Dr. Gianluigi Catelani Lead Researcher
Ben Blain Junior Researcher
Wayne Chetcuti
Wayne Chetcuti Junior Researcher
Enrico Domanti
Enrico Domanti Junior Researcher
Francesco Perciavalle
Francesco Perciavalle Junior Researcher
Gugliemo La Magna Intern
Quantum Algorithms
Prof. Dr. Leandro Aolita Executive Director
Ingo Roth Postdoctoral Researcher
Dr. Gian Camilo Postdoctoral Researcher
Abdulla Alhajri
Dr. Abdulla Alhajri Postdoctoral Researcher
Dr. Thais de Lima Silva
Dr. Thais de Lima Silva Postdoctoral Researcher
Sergi Ramos
Sergi Ramos-Calderer Associate Researchers
Ruge Lin
Ruge Lin Associate Researchers
Lucas Borges_QRC
Lucas Borges Associate Researcher
Renato Mello_QRC
Renato Mello Associate Researcher
Marco Sciorilli
Marco Sciorilli Associate Researcher
Stefano Pisoni
Stefano Pisoni Associate Researchers
Alessandro Falco Associate Researchers
Egor Tiunov
Egor Tiunov Postdoctoral Researcher
Thiago Maciel
Thiago Maciel Postdoctoral Researcher
Raghavendra Peddinti
Raghavendra Peddinti Intern
Dr. Ariel Bendersky
Dr. Ariel Bendersky Senior Researcher
Quantum Middleware
Prof. Dr Stefano Carrazza
Prof. Dr. Stefano Carrazza Scientific Collaborator Director
Prof. Dr. Javier Serrano Postdoctoral Researcher
Stavros Efthymiou
Stavros Efthymiou Junior Researcher
Quantum Communications
Dr. James Grieve
Dr. James Grieve Director
yury kurochkin
Dr. Yury Kurochkin Lead Scientist
Chua Rui Ming
Chua Rui Ming Junior Researcher
Rodrigo Piera
Dr. Rodrigo Piera Postdoctoral Researcher
Sana Pyka_QRC
Dr. Sana Pyka Lead Scientist
Vadim Rodimin
Dr. Vadim Rodimin Postdoctoral Researcher
Jaideep Singh
Jaideep Singh Junior Researcher
Dr. Karen Sloyan Senior Researcher
aleksei ponasenko
Aleksei Ponasenko Senior Software Engineer
Gianluca De Santis
Gianluca De Santis Associate Researcher
Rodrigo Piera
Dr. Rodrigo Piera Postdoctoral Researcher
Marios Papadovasilakis
Marios Papadovasilakis Postdoctoral Researcher
Quantum Computation
Dr Andrew Lütken
Prof. Dr. Andrew Lütken Executive Director
Prof. Dr. Javier Serrano Postdoctoral Researcher
Dr Boulos Alfakes
Dr. Boulos Alfakes Senior Researcher
Maxime Hantute
Maxime Hantute Associate Researcher
alvaro orgaz
Alvaro Orgaz Lead of Quantum Computing Control
Florent Ravaux
Dr. Florent Ravaux Cleanroom Process Engineer
David Fuentes
David Fuentes Ruiz Engineer
Quantum Sensing
Dr. René Reimann
Dr. Rene Reimann Director
Dr. Karsten Pyka Lead Technology Development
Raquel Flores
Dr. Raquel Flores Senior Researcher
Dr. Konstantin Katamadze
Dr. Konstantin Katamadze Senior Researcher
Anna Romanova
Anna Romanova Junior Researcher
Philip Verwegen
Philip Verwegen Junior Researcher
Hitheswar Prasad
Hitheswar Prasad Junior Researcher
Abigail Llandelar Executive Assistant Quantum Center
Varun Madhavan1
Varun Madhavan Project Coordinator
Joelle Schulenburg
Joelle Schulenburg Senior Project Manager
Scientific Advisory Board
Alex Ling
Prof. Alexander Ling
Rainer Dumke
Prof. Rainer Dumke