الاتصالات الكمية

ستؤثر الأجهزة التي تتيحها التكنولوجيا الكمية على العديد من أوجه المجتمع في المستقبل، حيث ستتراوح تلك الأنظمة من الحواسيب الكمية كلياً إلى المستشعرات المتناهية الصغر والعقد الصغيرة المتخصصة مثل الذاكرة الكمية. وتعتمد قوة و قدرة هذه المنظومة على ترابطها، وبالتالي تتمثل النتيجة الطبيعية لذلك في تسابق الباحثين في كل أرجاء العالم لتطوير الإنترنت الكمي.

تساهم مجموعة الاتصالات الكمية في هذه الجهود العالمية عبر تطوير أجهزة بحجم الرقاقة لإصدار أزواج الفوتونات المتشابكة أو الفردية. ولتحقيق ذلك نستخدم عمليات غير خطية، مثل مزج الموجات الثلاثية أو الرباعية، سواء بالبلورات البصرية أو بأشباه الموصلات مثل السيليكون. كما نقوم بالعمل مع مع متعاونين في سنغافورة وأوروبا لنستكشف التكامل غير المتجانس للمواد ثنائية الأبعاد، والتي ثبت أنها تحتوي عيوباً شبكية تمنحها قدرة على إرسال فوتونات فردية عالية الجودة.

مع اقتراب ظهور الحواسيب الكمية، تواجه الاتصالات الآمنة في يومنا هذا تهديداً غير مسبوق، لذا يواصل فريقنا إجراء البحوث في مجال توزيع المفاتيح الكمية. وتستخدم تلك المجموعة من بروتوكولات الاتصالات أسلوب تبادل الإشارات الكمية لتتيح أحد أشكال الاتصالات الآمنة والمنيعة ضد التصنت بغض النظر عن قدرات الحوسبة المتاحة للمتنصت المحتمل . وعبر تطوير واختبار أجهزة توزيع المفاتيح الكمية في الإمارات العربية المتحدة فإننا نأمل بإنتاج حلول مخصصة للمنطقة تضمن توفير الاتصالات الآمنة للسنوات القادمة.

الاتصالات الكمية مجموعة الاتصالات الكمية
Dr. James Grieve
الدكتور جايمس جريف مدير
الاتصالات الكمية

ص. ب: 9639، مدينة مصدر، أبوظبي، الإمارات العربية المتحدة

james.grieve@tii.ae
Jaideep Singh
جايديب سينغ باحث
Sana Pyka_QRC
سنا بيكا عالم رئيسي
شواغر الدكتوراه وما بعد الدكتوراه

نبحث عن باحثين مبدعين ومتحمسين لينضموا إلى فريقنا في أبوظبي. وهنالك مناصب شاغرة في قسم الدكتوراه وما بعد الدكتوراه. إن كانت خلفيتك المهنية وخبراتك تتناسب مع مواضيع بحوثنا، يرجى التواصل معنا عبر البريد الإلكتروني james.grieve@tii.ae لتعرف المزيد.

Quantum Communications

In the future, devices enabled by quantum technologies will impact many areas of society. These systems will range from full-blown quantum computers, to miniaturized sensors and small, specialized nodes like quantum memories. The power and capability of this ecosystem depends on its interconnectivity, with the natural consequence that researchers worldwide are racing to develop a “quantum internet”.

Research at the TII’s Quantum Communications lab contributes to this global effort, developing chip-scale devices that emit entangled photon pairs, or single photons. To achieve this we work with nonlinear processes such as three- and four-wave mixing, in both optical crystals and semiconductors like Silicon. Working with collaborators in Singapore and Europe, we are also interested in the heterogenous integration two-dimensional materials, which have recently been shown to host lattice defects exhibiting high quality single photon emission.

With the imminent arrival of quantum computers, today’s secure communications face an unprecedented threat. To this end our team also maintains a research line in quantum key distribution (QKD). This family of communications protocols uses the exchange of quantum signals to enable a form of ultra-secure communications, independent of the computing power available to a would-be eavesdropper. By developing and testing QKD devices in the UAE, we hope to produce solutions optimized for the region, ensuring the availability of private communications for years to come.

Quantum Communications Group
Dr. James Grieve
Dr. James Grieve
Director
Quantum Communications

P.O. Box: 9639, Masdar City, Abu Dhabi (UAE)
james.grieve@tii.ae
yury kurochkin
Dr. Yury Kurochkin
Lead Scientist
Chua Rui Ming
Chua Rui Ming
Junior Researcher
DERC_v3-12
Dr. Rodrigo Piera
Postdoctoral Researcher
Sana Pyka_QRC
Dr. Sana Pyka
Lead Scientist
Vadim Rodimin
Dr. Vadim Rodimin
Postdoctoral Researcher
Jaideep Singh
Jaideep Singh
Junior Researcher
Karen
Dr. Karen Sloyan
Senior Researcher
Open PhD and postdoctoral positions

We are currently looking for creative and motivated researchers to join our team in Abu Dhabi. Both PhD and Postdoctoral positions are available. If you feel your professional background and experience overlaps with our research areas, please reach out to james.grieve@tii.ae to learn more.