AIDRC Seminar Series - Prof. Doohwan Lee

Jul 01, 2024
AIDRC Seminar Series banner
Prof. Doohwan Lee

Prof. Doohwan Lee

NTT Japan

4th July 2024, 04:00pm – 05:00pm (GST)

Title:OAM Multiplexing Technology in the Sub-THz Band and its Extension to Multishape Radio
Abstract:We are researching and developing technology with the aim of achieving terabit-class wireless transmission for the 6G/IOWN era. 6G/IOWN era will bring a variety of use cases, and extremely high requirements must be met. This trend will promote full utilization of the sub-terahertz (sub-THz) frequency band and the use of more sophisticated radio transmission techniques. Highly sophisticated radio wave utilization will open new possibilities. The representative case is wireless communication using Orbital Angular Momentum (OAM) that has drawn much attention as an emerging candidate of 6G/IOWN era. OAM is a physical property of radio waves that are characterized by a helical phase front in the propagation direction. In this talk, basics of OAM multiplexing transmission and our recent experimental results done using millimeter wave (mmWave) and sub-THz bands. Also, we present the world first experimental demonstration of 1.44 Tbit/s wireless data transmission based on OAM multiplexing in the sub-THz band. Finally, we extend our work to multishape radio that exploits the various physical properties of electromagnetic waves. Together with the utilization of OAM, multishape radio will lead to new opportunities toward the 6G/IOWN era.
Bio:Doohwan Lee received the Ph.D. in electrical engineering and information systems from the University of Tokyo in 2009. He has been with NTT Network Innovation Laboratories since 2009. From 2012 to 2014, he was a full-time lecturer at the Research Center for Advanced Science and Technology, the University of Tokyo. From 2016 to 2018, he was a part-time lecturer at Kanagawa University. His research interests include compressed sensing, software/cognitive radio, signal processing, OAM multiplexing and multishape radio. He received the Best Paper Award and Best Technical Exhibition Award from the Institute of Electronics, Information and Communication Engineers (IEICE) Software Radio in 2011, the IEICE Communications Society Excellent Paper Award in 2012, the IEICE SRW (Short Range Wireless Communications) Young Researcher’s Award in 2016, the Best Technical Exhibition Award from SmartCom 2014, the Best Paper Award from SmartCom 2016, the Best Paper Award and Special Technical Award in Smart Radio from IEICE Smart Radio in 2017, the Distinguished Contributions Award from IEICE Communications Society in 2021, and the ComEX Best Letter Award in 2023. He has served as general co-chair of many workshops held at the IEEE ICC, GLOBECOM, PIMRC, and VTC. He was a co-chair of Membership Development Committee (MDC) of the IEEE ComSoC APB in 2022 and 2023.